APRIL 12, 1861MAY 9, 1865


As a result of the long-standing controversy over slavery,

war broke out in April 1861,

when Confederate forces attacked Fort Sumter in South Carolina,

shortly after U.S. President Abraham Lincoln was inaugurated.

Among the 34 U.S. states in February 1861,

seven Southern slave states individually declared their secession from the U.S.

to form the Confederate States of America, or the South.

The Confederacy grew to include eleven slave states.

The Confederacy was never diplomatically recognized by the United States government,

nor was it recognized by any foreign country.